Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 19th, 2008

I did an unusual amount of knitting over the summer, usually I am not interested in kniting and would rather be outside. Pregnancy limited the amount of time I could spend in the heat, knitting allowed me to “accomplish something” even though I couldn’t be out weeding the garden. I grew a lovely crop of weeds while I knit baby things.

We decided not to find out the gender of Nora, so I tried to use fairly gender neutral colors and styles. The one exception were these ruffle cuff longies. All were made using the Picky Pants pattern, size small.

Yarn Pirate BFL dk weight yarn, colorway Sedona. Size 7 needle (size 6 for ribbing at waist).

These have an I-cord cuff, very tidy looking and gives a more straight-leg look.

Yarn Pirate BFL dk weight, colorway Veda 2, size 7 needles (size 6 for ribbing).

Both of these pairs fit her now at 8 pounds, they will probably fit until she is 3 months old or 11-12 pounds.

These are slightly larger, they are made from a worsted weight yarn on larger needles, and have a seed stitch cuff. They will fit once she grows another inch or two longer. This is some of the softest yarn I have ever knit with, and is the softest wool. None of the wool I use next to the skin is scratchy at all. I use these as covers for cloth diapers. My experience with cloth diapers will need a post all its own.

Malabrigo Yarn Merino Worsted, size 8 needle (size 7 for ribbing at waistband).

This was the first sweater that I knit that involved seaming. The pattern is the Baby Yoda Sweater, a free Ravelry download. I would guess it fits 8-14 pounds.

Baby Yoda, Crystal Palace Yarns Merino 5 solid, color 5215. Needle size 6.

And finally for this post, a masterpiece of a pattern. If you are a knitter you must make this sweater, it is a brilliant pattern and I spent a good deal of time while knitting this wishing I could have lived in Elizabeth Zimmerman’s head for a bit. Here is my first (definitely not the last) Baby Surprise Jacket, from Knitting Workshop (also in An Opinionated Knitter). This will fit from 8-11ish pounds. The relatively short sleeves that this pattern produces are perfect for a baby.

Koigu Painter’s Palate Premium Merino, 2 skeins (lost tags so colorways unknown). Size 4 needle.

It is a beautiful day, I am going to spend the rest of quiet time outside cleaning up the garden and raking leaves. The ducks and geese are moving to the garden for the winter for weed and slug control.

Read Full Post »